Junior PGA Championship

Junior PGA Championship

June 12-13, 2018
Broken Sound Club - Old Course


The South Florida Junior PGA Championship is one of South Florida’s Junior Majors. This 36 hole stroke play event is designed to highlight South Florida’s top male and female junior golfer. In order to participate in the South Florida Junior PGA Championship, all players must first qualify through one of three local qualifiers. Successful qualifiers will pay no additional fee to participate in the South Florida Junior PGA Championship. Players will receive a premium tee gift at the tournament as well as lunch following play after each round.
The overall boy and girl winner will advance on to the 2018 National Junior PGA Championship. 

Girls Junior PGA Championship
July 9-12 at Kearney Hill Golf Links in Lexington, KY

Boys Junior PGA Championship
July 31-August 3 at Valhalla Golf Club in Lexington, KY

The National Junior PGA Championship is one of the premier junior events in the United States. This event is administered by the same team who conduct the PGA Championship and the Ryder Cup.

Boys & Girls 9-12 Age Division

The boys and girls 9-12 age division will only play 18 holes on Tuesday, June 12th. The winner of the 9-12 age division will be eligible to win awards but not eligible to move on to the National Junior PGA Championship. Any boy or girls under the age of 12 who would like to attempt to qualify for the national tournament must play in the 13-18 age division during the qualifier.

Click here for the tournament information page


  • Boys 9-12/Girls 9-12: $55.00 (18 holes one day – June 12th) (*Can not advance to National Junior PGA Championship)

  • Boys 13-15 / Girls 13-15: $100.00 (36 holes)

  • Boys 16-18 / Girls 16-18: $100.00 (36 holes)


​Click here for more information and to register for a qualifer


All players will need to qualify to attend the South Florida Junior PGA Championship. There will be three (3) qualifiers held throughout the section, and players will be required to participate in 1 of the 3 qualifiers. It is suggested that the players register for their nearest qualifying location.

Qualifying Sites:

May 26 - Wycliffe Golf & Country Club
June 3 - Trump National Doral (Red Tiger)
June 3 - Vineyards Country Club

The number of players who qualify per site will be determined by the number of players in each field.

A total of 84 players in the 13-18 Divisions will play in the Championship, along with 12 players from 9-12.

* Exemptions into this year’s section Junior PGA Championship will be granted to the following individuals based on exemption guidelines: 

Winners of the 2016 & 2017 SFPGA Junior PGA Championships in the Overall Division, as well as the 2017 Players of the Year for the Overall Divisions in the Challenge and Championship Tour and the winner of the Birdie Club fund raiser from 2015.

Exempt Players

1. 2016 & 2017 South Florida PGA Junior Championship Qualifiers

  • 2016 - Brett Robers & Valeria Pacheco
  • 2017 - Luke Clanton, Kerttu Hiltunen, Amadeo Figus & Taylor Caradonna

2. 2017 Challenge & Championship Tour Players of the Year (13-18)

  • Challenge Tour - Garrett Giles & Chloe Kovelesky
  • Championship Tour - Daisuke Nakano & Skylee Shin

3. 2017 Birdie Club Champion
~ Alex Heard

**Only boys and girls competing in the 13-18 age divisions will be eligible to qualify for the national event.  Players under the age of 13 may “declare up” to be eligible to qualify and are required to play from the same tees as the 13-18 age divisions.  If any player under the age of 13 would like to attempt to qualify for the national event or compete in the 36 hole event must sign up for the 13-18 age division.


2017 (Top 2 boys and girls advanced to Junior PGA Championship)
Champion - Luke Clanton
Champion - Kerttu Hiltunen

Amadeo Figus 
Taylor Caradonna

Brett Roberts
Valeria Pacheco


Andrew Kozan
Jillian Bourdage


Anthony Gabriele
Valeria Sofia Pacheco

Christian Zimm
Radi Sauro

Anthony Gabriele
Valentina Haupt


Stefano Diaz
Valentina Herrera


Ryan Celano
Shelby Coyle


Chase Koepka
Jaye Marie Green


Ernesto Marin
Shelby Coyle


Ernesto Marin
Shelby Coyle


Conner Arendell
Kyle Roig


Danny Evelyn
Lexi Thompson